Christine

I less than three stationery.

In May 2011, Stationery on May 11, 2011 at 4:09 am

I Love stationery. Love with a capital L. As in, if it were possible to marry a paper product, it is entirely probable that I wouldn’t have been single when my now-fiance-then-boyfriend came along.

And choosing stationery for a wedding is hard. Not ‘coz there’s nothing nice out there (or at least nothing nice out there that’s affordable) and not ‘coz there’s nothing out there that reflects my style. But because I. Love. All. Of. It.

I’d like to say that I took a look at my budget* and chopped out all of those invitations that were above whatever the allocated figure to spend on invitations was. But I didn’t. I kept looking, and drooling. And trying to work out how to fit all of the elements of each design that I loved into one Giant Design. (It didn’t work. Not least because I have no artistic ability).

In the end, I gave up and went for something simple that we** could design and print at home (though it still saddens me that I won’t have little piles of orgasm-worthy invitations to send out to people). For me, the ‘this is it’ moment that seems to come from so much of wedding planning wasn’t when I saw the invitations (though I did see a few billion invitations that *could* have been the one) it came when my fiance liked it, too. It wasn’t my ‘the one’, but it was ours.

* My budget was a random figure selected because I was trying to see if I could beat the ‘average wedding’ cost of $28,000. The figure sort of stuck, though there was really no reason for it.

** And by ‘we’ I mean ‘he’. A genius when it comes to fonts and photoshopping. Me, not so much.

Leave a Reply

