Christine

Sadie Hawkins Dress

In 2011, May 2011, Outfits, Wedding Dress on May 16, 2011 at 12:05 am

You know how in the States they have a Sadie Hawkins dance (or so I have heard) where they empower the girls to ask the guys to the dance, rather than the other way around?

Yeah, well I think I need to find a dress that’ll do the same thing. Why should I have to be the one to spend hours and days and weeks and time and effort chasing the dress around? Why can’t I just sit back and wait for the dress to tap me on the shoulder and say “excuse me, but would you do the honour of wearing me to your wedding?”. (I mean, apart from the fact that it’s a dress and none of this actually achieveable…yet).

I ask (demand) this because I simply cannot make my mind up about a dress. There’s too many lovely options out there. Do I want to be vintage and fun (hell yes!) and wear a tea length dress (hell yes again!)? Or do I want to be traditional and classic (yes!!) and wear a full length dress (yes!!)?

And what should it be made of? Satin? Lace? Should it have embellishments? Straps? Cap sleeves? High neckline? Sweetheart neckline? No neckline …no, probably a neckline of some sort is required.

At the moment I’m loving this dress, but who knows, that may change (especially if I keep looking at actual vintage dresses on Etsy!).

"Cyd" by Augusta Jones

Leave a Reply

