Christine

Stop Looking!

In Jewellery, May 2011 on May 17, 2011 at 1:18 pm

So, I thought I had an idea in mind, at least regarding what I was going to be wearing.

I love vintage, which just screams lace and pearls to me. Full length lace dress, with some cute cap sleeves. Modern, but still vintage. And then I bought some darling 1930s-esque jewellery:

My 1930s-esque jewellery

Would look great with the dress I showed you yesterday, right?

But then I couldn’t find a hairpiece I liked. I wanted something vintage-y that matched these things* and I needed two that matched and were small enough to wear either side of my head. And this is where it all started to fall apart. I can’t find anything. So then I started thinking, well maybe it doesn’t have to be pearls. Maybe it can be mother of pearl. Or opals. They’re both classy, and fairly vintage (and importantly, they’re white or at least very close to being white).

The problem with this sort of thinking, however, is that it’s where I started when I first tried to work out what I wanted to wear.

Years ago I had picked out almost all of my wedding. A lot of it has changed (the dress) some of it hasn’t (bridesmaids are still wearing pink). But the thing I’d never been able to decide on was what my jewellery would be. Would it be pearl, mother of pearl or opal?

And here we are again. Moral of the story? Don’t wear jewellery. But in all seriousness, I can only assume that the moral is to stop looking. If you’ve decided on pearls (hurrah) then stop looking for hair pieces in mother of pearl or opal. It’ll only end in tears. And really, are hairpieces worth crying about?**

* For the record, I had originally intended for my jewellery to be gold to match my wedding ring. Do you have any idea how hard it is to find nice, affordable, vintage-style gold jewellery with pearls? Almost impossible, that’s how hard.

** Only you can answer this question. I’d like to think the answer would be no, but with my wedding still 17 months away, the answer may well turn out to be yes!

  1. […] my jewellery for example. I bought some perfectly lovely 1930s style jewellery from Etsy but I cannot work out […]

Leave a Reply

