Christine

Becoming a M(r)s.

In May 2011, Uncategorized on May 25, 2011 at 11:42 pm

I’m old fashioned. I’m not a feminist (in the “I am woman hear me roar” sense). I’m not even entirely sure that I’m a feminist in the ‘women-should-have-the-right-to-choose’ sense, but that’s probably just because the 1950s housewife in me is desperate to stay at home cooking and cleaning while the husband goes off to work. But I guess if I actually sat down and though it all through I would probably reluctantly concede that if women out there want to be hard-core feminists they should be allowed, and that maybe I’m not as chauvanistic as I think.

But what is all this leading to, you ask? It’s leading to the assumption (discussion, call it what you will) that seems to be Out There that all adult/grown women should be called Ms by default, and that anything else is rude or disrespectful. And this makes me sad. It makes me sad when I fill out a form and my only options are to be a Ms or a Mrs. (I’ll usually select being a Mrs. over being a Ms. Sometimes I’ll even select Mr. or Dr.. Anything to avoid being a Ms!). I’ve sent letters of complaint to various companies who deny me this choice, but they never change their forms.

I *want* to be a Miss, dammit! And when I get married, I want to be Mrs. HisFirstName HisLastName. Because I’m old-fashioned like that. And it breaks my heart that I’m going to be dragged into the world of being a Ms HisLastName or Mrs. MyFirstName HisLastName because that is considered to be the ‘correct’ way to do things.

It also makes me sad that no one adds the period to the end of Mr or Mrs these days. But that’s a whole other post!

Leave a Reply

