Christine

Flowers in a Can

In Centrepiece, May 2011 on May 26, 2011 at 10:55 am

Since I’ve been talking about centrepieces a bit lately, I bet you’re all wondering what happened to this cute idea

Tin Can Centrepiece

And the truth of the matter is I sort of gave it up ‘coz the DIY instructions call for the tins to be covered in cute (and possibly vintage-y) contact paper or wall paper.

And while Australia is awesome, it’s got nothing on the US or the UK when it comes to finding gorgeous old things for a bargain price. Op shops are great, but aren’t the treasure trove for antiques and vintage items they are there, and ebay isn’t a source of all things wonderful. And we certainly don’t have a craigs list (though we do have gumtree which is slowly taking off).

The idea of finding appropriate contact or wall paper seemed hopeless.
And then I found Zetta Florence located in a tolerably distant place from mine (and who handily has an online shop) that sells vintage looking maps to use as wrapping paper.

I’ve been looking for somewhere to use the maps at our wedding, because my fiance is a geography fiend. He can name almost the countries in the world (and by almost all I mean he forgets all of one or two). He knows their capitals. He knows where they are. Even the weird obscure ones in Africa.

So I thought, well why don’t I try wrapping the tins in the map wrapping paper? Not all of them, but maybe some of them. And then, if I’m using wrapping paper, I can get cute vintage-y scrapbook paper to cover the rest! And suddenly, I’m feeling it again.

Leave a Reply

