Christine

Frustrating Caterers

In May 2011, Uncategorized on May 28, 2011 at 11:12 am

I’m busy trying to find a reception venue, because everything books out so far in advance.

We found a nice-ish hotel (Victoria Hotel in the Melbourne CBD if anyone wants to know), but it seems a bit small and cramped for the 100 guests we plan on stuffing in there, and even with it being the cheapest venue we’ve found, at $98/head it’s still pricer than we want. While we’re not trying to do this on a shoe-string, $10,000 just to feed people seems a lot.

So instead we thought we’d look at hiring a hall and getting in caterers. We both love the look of the Fitzroy Town Hall but we’d need to get caterers in, and therein lies the problem. None of the caterers want to get back to me. I must have emailed 6-7 of them, and no replies as yet. It’s getting very frustrating, because there’s not that many more caterers out there. I know I could just call them, but if they want my business so little that they can’t even reply with a courtesy email, I’m not sure I want to give them my business, yaknow?

Leave a Reply

