Christine

M_____ RSVP

In 2011, May 2011, Stationery on May 31, 2011 at 1:50 am

It turns out that I’m not the only person who had no idea why the space for your name on an RSVP was preceded by an “m”.
Is it a place holder, I wondered. Does the word “name” start with “M” in French? Answer, I still don’t know.

But it’s ok, ‘coz google is my friend. And he tells me (or at least links me to pages that tell me what it’s for.

And it turns out it’s so that you don’t have to trouble yourself as to the writing of the first “M” in your title.

See how handy that is? Sure, your hand may normally cramp up writing Mr and Mrs Incredibly-Long-First-Name Followed-By-Incredibly-Long-Last-Name, but that pre-printed “M” has solved all your problems!

I think I’ll be leaving the “M” off mine, and either leaving it blank, or preceding it with “We/I” ___________.

What would/did you do?

Leave a Reply

