Christine

Wedding Songs

In Uncategorized on August 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm

We’re having an organ play during the actual ceremony, and a live (as opposed to a dead and/or recorded) jazz band for the reception, but I can’t work out what songs we should have.

I’ll be walking down the aisle to the Bridal March and I would like the recessional to be Parchelbel’s Canon in D, but I have no idea what other songs to play while the guests wait for my arrival.

Similarly, we’ve agreed on Etta James’s “At Last” for the First Dance (to which I”m hoping we’ll be doing a blues waltz), but I’m not sure of any other songs. I’m not in search for anything in particular for things like cake cutting, garter tossing (which we won’t be having anyway) or bouquet throwing, but general suggestions would be handy.

Especially for songs from between about the 1930s to 1950s (and yes, I’m pretty sure “At Last” was written after that).

  1. Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desire is a great prelude song. And Ray Charles’ Makin’ Whoopie would be cute to play during the garter toss.

  2. Keep up the good piece of work, I read few articles on this site and I believe that your weblog is real interesting and has circles of wonderful info.

Leave a Reply

