Christine

Binding Invitations

In 2012, February, Inspiration, Stationery on March 2, 2012 at 10:25 am

It occurred to me that I really shouldn’t just lump my invitations, RSVP cards, envelopes, maps, gift registry information, anything else I can think of, all together in an envelope to fall out and attack the poor soul that opens it.

I’ve been trying to come up with solutions, from pockets (hard to self-construct and expensive to buy in the sizes I need), belly bands (which work momentarily, but that I suspect aren’t good long term options, split pins (but then my RSVP card and envelope have a hole in them!) and nothing seemed to be working out.

And then I saw an invitation collection held together with what looked for all the world like a heart-shaped paper clip. And then I googled and found this post at How About Orange that showed me how to make heart shaped paperclips.

And it looks so super-dooper easy that I can’t work out how it didn’t occur to me before!

It seems like it’s this simple:


Image from How About Orange

So I went off to Officeworks to buy a tub of black paperclips (whole other story right there) and have made my first mock-up.

Feel free to applaud the super-professional job I did of blanking out the fiance and my names!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It works!

    • okay i am doing this to my notes starting…now! Like i am actually going to start bending those paperclips in shape! This is so cool and cheap! I was looking online for cute shaped paperclips to make my notes less boring….but they cost quite a bit for like 3 paperclips! So glad I caught this on my wordpress feed!

      • I know, it’s incredible! It took me a few tries to work out which direction to bend them in (and I found using pliers made it much easier) but they look awesome! My fiance claims they look nothing like love hearts, but I’m totally ignoring him.

Leave a Reply

