Christine

Cleaning Costume Jewellery

In Uncategorized on May 3, 2012 at 6:36 am

I have discovered that one of the more difficult aspects of planning a vintage wedding is working out how to care for vintage items.

Take my jewellery for example. I bought some perfectly lovely 1930s style jewellery from Etsy

but I cannot work out how to clean it. I can’t use any chemicals myself because
the chemicals are supposed to be bad for pearls (both real and faux), and I’m concerned that if I use one of those ultrasonic-immerse-in-water-and-vibrate-the-dirt-out machines, it’ll cause problems with the glue holding the faux pearls in place.

I’ve tried a silver polishing cloth, but to not much avail. I think the only thing I haven’t tried is using a soft brush (such as a paint brush) to brush any dust out, but there doesn’t seem to be much there.

So basically I’m stumped. The jewellery is pretty, and it sparkles, which I suppose is all it needs to do, but I’d be a lot happier if I could be sure it was clean!

Do you have any advice for me? Would love to see any tips and tricks! Alternatively, have you purchased anything that’s been hard to clean or maintain?

Leave a Reply

